What's the daily schedule like in a trail running holiday?

Each holiday is unique and the schedule varies from one destination to another. Generally, we devote half a day to our trail running excursions and the other half to complementary activities (i.e. a visit to a historical site) and relaxation. On some days we also need to factor in some time for transportation to our next destination. In the evening, participants are free to eat wherever they want, unless dinner is included in the package.

How do I know if I'm able to follow the group?

Our holidays are ranked into three effort levels, which you will find below. Make sure you choose a holiday that matches your capacity. Note that this classification serves as a general guide and that some factors may belong to different levels.

Stroll: 5-10 km and 0-500 m of elevation gain per day, hilly terrain

Adventure: 10-20 km and 500-1000 m of elevation gain per day, mountainous terrain

Endurance: + 20 km and + 1000 m of elevation gain per day, mountainous terrain up to subalpine and alpine zones

Do I have to run the entire distance without stopping?

No. In trail running, it’s rarely the case and walking may be more efficient on technical terrain. But most importantly, our tours are an excuse to go on an adventure. Turn your holiday mindset on and make the most of your experience in the field. During our excursions, our guides will plan for breaks so that you can take pictures, eat, drink or just enjoy the moment!

Do I have to carry my luggage?

When running from point A to point B, all you need is your daypack as your main luggage is transferred by our local transportation supplier.

What kind of daypack should I use?

The ideal daypack is a hydration vest with storage of about 15 liters. Designed for running, these vests have wide shoulder straps and waistband that prevent bouncing when you’re in motion. They come with a hydration system and space for flasks at the front. Flasks are useful for distributing the weight of water on your body and for keeping an eye on your water consumption. Pockets at the front and sides allow you to have snacks at your fingertips. It is best to buy your vest at a running specialty store, as opposed to online. Take advantage of professional advice and learn how to properly use this important piece of gear that will be part of your running journey.

Which items are required in my daypack?

– Minimum 2 litres of water
– Waterproof- breathable shell
– Depending on the climate: insulating top (fleece or thin down jacket), buff, tuque, gloves, etc. in a drybag
– Whistle
– Small first aid kit
– Sunglasses
– Small amount of sunscreen
– Personal medication, if applicable (i.e. Epipen)
– Food: a lunch will be provided when required by our itinerary. We always plan for nutritious food, easy to eat with hands.
– Your favorite energy bars and gels

Looks like the perfect opportunity to test my new gear...

We strongly recommend bringing gear that you’ve already worn and tested. New shoes can cause blisters and badly fitting bags can cause chafing. Day after day, light discomfort can evolve into pain that is difficult to manage. Avoid losing your smile while on vacation by using gear that you know is a safe bet.

What will the food be like?

We know that meals are an important factor for enjoyment and recovery. Meals included in your package will be an opportunity to discover the local cuisine. Download our guide for your destination to find out more about local dishes that you’ll have the chance to try out. Whenever we offer a packed lunch for our running outings, we plan for food with high energy content that is easy to eat with your hands.

What will the accommodation be like?

The accommodation varies from one destination to another, but our most important criteria is comfort. For example, our cottages in England have complete kitchen, living room, bathroom with shower, washer, Wi-Fi, and rooms with one or two beds. In Croatia and Portugal, we stay in 3-star and 4-star hotels. In Mexico and around Mont-Blanc, we stay in hotels in urban areas and in huts with dormitories when spending the night up in the mountains.

Which services are included in the price?

Our price covers services on land, such as : professional guides, luggage and passenger transportation, accommodation, guided trail running outings, some meals, a few complementary activities, an assortment of Xact Nutrition snacks (1 bar/day), telecommunications and first aid equipment transported by our guides, preparatory meeting, taxes and service charges. The number of included meals varies from one destination to another. Download our guide for your destination to get a complete list of inclusions.

What isn't included in the price?

Airfare and related costs (airport tax, luggage registration, etc.), ground transportation other than what is mentioned in the itinerary, activities and meals other than those mentioned in the itinerary, gratuities, drinks, souvenirs, purchase and rental of personal equipment, contribution to FICAV (compensation fund for customers of travel agents: $1 per $1,000), insurance and vaccines.

Are your holidays for runners only?

Yes. Our “stroll” holidays are for runners who want an introduction to trail running, while our “adventure” and “endurance” holidays are aimed at those who have experience in trail running. These categories encourage group cohesion in the field so that we can optimize group management, as well as everyone’s safety and satisfaction.

Do I need to train for my trail running holiday?

Yes. Physical preparation is essential to injury prevention. As we run for several consecutive days, our muscles, bones, and joints need to be prepared to a higher level of stress. The secret is in a progressive training program. An increase of 10% per week in running volume (distance or time) is considered safe. Progression also applies to any novelty in your training program. Whether you change shoes, terrain or routine, it is crucial to do it gradually. For more information, visit the Runner’s Clinic website, a neutral, renowned resource in the running community.

What type of training do I need for a trail running holiday?

There is no secret recipe. The best way to prepare for a trail running holiday is to run … on trails! Running frequently, on various types of terrain, will help improve your agility and concentration, as well as your ability to run uphill and downhill. Strengthening exercises are also beneficial to coordination, posture, and (as a bonus!) performance. Finally, there’s nothing like testing yourself in conditions that are similar to those you will encounter during your adventure. Run two or three days in a row, plan for long walk-runs in the mountains, get used to running with a daypack… You will know what to expect and your body will thank you.

Are your guides facilitators or coaches?

Our guides from the headquarters team are adventure travel professionals. They’re experts in travel logistics and outdoor activities, certified in wilderness first aid, and dedicated trail runners. They supervise groups from arrival to departure, assist the local guide on running excursions, help you live an unforgettable sporting and cultural experience, and coordinate the various services. Although they are competent to advise you on gear, safety, hydration, and injury prevention, they are not coaches or sports medicine professionals.

Our local guides are experts of the trails we will explore: they know them like the back of their hands. They’re also athletes, coaches or trail running event managers (some of them are all three!). We work closely with them to design our holidays and their expertise is invaluable. They lead our trail running excursions, ensure the smooth running of our programs and bring you closer to the local culture and history. We carefully select our local partners and service quality is our number one priority.

What happens if I get hurt on an excursion?

Our guides are trained in wilderness first aid and know what to do in these situations. They carry equipment for emergency situations and are provided with an emergency plan adapted to your destination. If you need to be evacuated by emergency services (helicopter, mountain rescue service, etc.), please note that you are responsible for these costs, which are often substantial. Make sure your insurance covers these fees and repatriation fees in case you are unable to continue your trip with the group.

How many runners and guides are there in a group?

Our groups are comprised of 6 to 14 runners, always supervised by two guides. There is one exception: our holiday in Mexico is open for up to 20 runners as we are able to add local guides to our team if needed.

Can I travel at a different time than the advertised dates?

Absolutely. Contact us to get a customized itinerary, whether you are a couple, a family or a group of friends. Note that for some destinations, the best season for trail running is limited to a few months a year.

Are there aid stations along the way?

No. Each runner must carry a daypack and be self-sufficient in water and food. Our philosophy is to use trail running as an excuse to go on an adventure. Our holidays are not training camps or timed events. We have plenty of time to take breaks, drink and eat along the way.

My spouse does not run. Can he or she join the tour anyway?

Some of our holidays may be suitable for a person who does not run. Contact us for more information.

How do I sign up for a holiday?

Call us at 514 377-7660 or email us at info@nomadeactif.com.

Take a run off the beaten path with us!

Contact Us

Please fill out this form and we will contact you shortly.

Contact Details

Destination

À quoi ressemble une journée dans nos voyages?

Chaque voyage est unique et l’horaire varie d’une destination à l’autre. De manière générale, nous consacrons une demi-journée à nos excursions de course en sentier. Le reste du temps est voué aux activités complémentaires (par exemple, visite d’un site historique), à la détente et parfois aussi au transport vers notre prochain objectif. En soirée, les participants sont libres de manger où ils le souhaitent, à moins que les soupers soient inclus dans le forfait.

Comment savoir si j'ai la capacité de suivre le groupe?

Nos destinations sont classées en trois niveaux d’effort, que vous trouverez ci-dessous. Assurez-vous de choisir un séjour qui correspond à vos capacités. Notez que cette classification sert de guide général et que certains facteurs peuvent se chevaucher.

Balade : 5-10 km et 0-500 m de D+ par jour, terrain ondulé

Aventure : 10-20 km et 500-1000 m de D+ par jour, terrain ondulé ou montagneux

Endurance : Plus de 20 km et plus de 1000 m de D+ par jour, terrain montagneux, milieu subalpin ou alpin

Dois-je courir toute la distance sans arrêt?

Non. En course en sentier, c’est rarement le cas et il est parfois plus efficace de marcher dans certaines sections plus techniques. Aussi, nos voyages sont d’abord un prétexte pour partir à l’aventure. Nous sommes en mode vacances et nous voulons tirer le maximum de notre expérience dans les milieux que nous explorons. Durant nos excursions, nos guides vous inviteront à faire des pauses pour prendre une photo, manger, boire ou simplement apprécier le moment présent!

Dois-je transporter mes bagages?

Lorsque nous courons du point A au point B, votre bagage principal est transporté d’un endroit à l’autre par un fournisseur local. Sur le terrain, vous ne transportez que votre sac de jour.

Quel sac de jour devrais-je utiliser?

Le meilleur sac pour ce type de voyage est une veste d’hydratation dotée d’un espace de rangement d’environ 15 litres. Conçues pour la course, ces vestes ont des bretelles et une ceinture larges, qui stabilisent le sac lorsque vous êtes en mouvement. Elles sont équipées d’une poche d’hydratation et de poches à l’avant et sur les côtés qui vous permettent d’avoir des collations à portée de main. Il est préférable d’acheter votre veste dans une boutique spécialisée en course à pied, et non en ligne. Profitez des conseils d’un spécialiste pour apprendre à utiliser cet accessoire important, qui vous accompagnera dans toutes vos excursions.

Que dois-je transporter dans mon sac de jour?

– Minimum 2 litres d’eau
– Coquille imper-respirante
– Selon le climat : haut isolant (polar ou doudoune mince), buff, tuque, gants, etc. dans un sac étanche
– Sifflet
– Petite trousse de premiers soins
– Lunettes de soleil
– Petite quantité d’écran solaire
– Médicaments personnels, si nécessaire (exemple : Epipen)
– Nourriture : lorsque le plan du jour l’exige, nous fournissons un lunch à emporter qui est nutritif et facile à manger avec les mains
– Vos barres et gels énergétiques préférés

J'aimerais profiter de mon voyage pour tester mon équipement neuf...

Nous vous recommandons fortement d’apporter de l’équipement déjà porté et testé. Les chaussures neuves peuvent causer des ampoules et les sacs mal ajustés, des brûlures par frottement. Jour après jour, un petit inconfort peut devenir une douleur difficile à gérer qui nous empêche de garder le sourire en vacances. Optez pour des valeurs sûres!

Qu'allons-nous manger?

Nous savons que les repas sont un facteur de plaisir et de récupération important pour les coureurs. Les repas inclus dans votre forfait seront une occasion de découvrir la cuisine locale. Téléchargez le carnet de voyage de votre destination pour en savoir plus sur les mets locaux qui vous seront offerts. Lorsque nous offrons des lunchs à emporter dans le sac de jour, nous priorisons les aliments qui offrent un bon apport énergétique et qui sont faciles à manger avec les mains.

Quel type d'hébergement offrez-vous?

Le type d’hébergement varie d’une destination à l’autre, mais dans tous les cas, nous accordons une grande importance au confort. À titre d’exemple, en Angleterre, nous logeons dans des chalets tout équipés (cuisine, salon, salle de bain avec douche, laveuse, Wi-Fi) avec chambres à un ou deux lits. En Croatie et au Portugal, nous logeons dans des hôtels trois et quatre étoiles. Au Mexique et dans la région du Mont-Blanc, nous logeons en hôtel dans les régions urbaines et dans des refuges équipés de dortoirs lorsque nous sommes en montagne.

Quels services sont inclus dans le prix du voyage?

Nos prix comprennent la portion terrestre du voyage, c’est-à-dire : encadrement offert par des guides professionnels, transport des bagages et des voyageurs, hébergement, excursions guidées de course en sentier, un certain nombre de repas, un assortiment de collations Xact Nutrition (1 barre/jour), quelques activités complémentaires, équipement de télécommunications et de premiers soins transporté par les guides, rencontre préparatoire, taxes et frais de service. Le nombre de repas inclus varie d’une destination à l’autre. Téléchargez le carnet de voyage de votre destination, vous y trouverez une liste complète des inclusions.

Qu'est-ce qui n'est pas inclus dans le prix?

Transport aérien et frais connexes (taxes d’aéroport, transport aérien des bagages, etc.), transport terrestre non mentionné dans les inclusions, activités et repas non mentionnés dans les inclusions, pourboires, boissons, souvenirs, achat et location d’équipement personnel, contribution au Fonds d’indemnisation des clients des agents de voyage (1 $ par tranche de 1 000 $), assurances et vaccins.

Dois-je avoir de l'expérience en course à pied?

Oui. Nos voyages « balade » s’adressent aux coureurs qui désirent s’initier à la course en sentier, tandis que nos voyages « aventure » et « endurance » s’adressent à ceux qui ont de l’expérience en course en sentier. Ces catégories nous aident à former des groupes qui auront une bonne cohésion sur le terrain, de manière à optimiser l’encadrement, la sécurité et la satisfaction de chaque voyageur.

Ai-je besoin de m'entraîner avant mon voyage?

Oui. Du point de vue de la prévention des blessures, un voyage de course en sentier nécessite une bonne préparation physique. Puisque nous courons plusieurs jours consécutifs, il est primordial de préparer notre corps au stress que cela suppose pour les muscles, les os et les articulations. Le secret est dans un entraînement progressif. Une augmentation de 10 % par semaine en volume de course (distance ou temps) est considérée comme un barème fiable. Par exemple, lorsqu’on prévoit faire un 10 km pour la première fois, on ne court pas 10 km à chaque sortie! C’est le même principe qui s’applique lorsqu’on se prépare à un voyage de course en sentier. L’objectif est d’augmenter progressivement le volume d’entraînement hebdomadaire, de manière à se rapprocher du volume qui sera couru durant le voyage.

De quel type d'entraînement ai-je besoin avant de partir?

Il n’y a pas de secret. Le meilleur moyen de vous préparer est de courir… en sentier! En multipliant les sorties sur divers types de terrains, vous affinerez votre agilité et votre concentration, tout en améliorant votre capacité à courir en montée comme en descente. Lorsque vous devez courir sur le béton ou l’asphalte, ajoutez des montées et des descentes à vos parcours pour simuler les variations du terrain qu’on retrouve en sentier. Des exercices de renforcement sont aussi bénéfiques pour la coordination, la posture et (en prime!) la performance. Enfin, un excellent moyen de vous préparer est de vous tester dans des conditions similaires au voyage. Sortez courir deux ou trois jours consécutifs, faites quelques longues sorties de course-marche en montagne, habituez-vous à courir avec un sac… Vous saurez ainsi à quoi vous attendre et votre corps vous remerciera.

Les guides sont-ils des accompagnateurs ou des entraîneurs?

Les guides de notre équipe québécoise sont avant tout des professionnels du tourisme d’aventure. Ils sont experts en logistique de voyage et en encadrement d’activités de plein air, certifiés en premiers soins en régions isolées et passionnés de course en sentier. Ils supervisent les groupes de l’arrivée au départ, aident le guide local lors des excursions, coordonnent les différents services et veillent à vous offrir une expérience sportive et culturelle inoubliable. Ils peuvent également vous conseiller en matière d’équipement, de sécurité, d’hydratation et de prévention des blessures. Ils ne sont toutefois pas là à titre d’entraîneurs ou de professionnels en médecine sportive.

Nos guides locaux sont des experts du terrain que nous explorons à destination, de même que des professionnels de la course en sentier. Ils sont athlètes, entraîneurs ou organisateurs de courses d’envergure (certains d’entre eux sont tout cela à la fois!). Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec eux pour concevoir nos séjours et leur expertise est d’une valeur inestimable. Ils dirigent les excursions de course en sentier, veillent au bon déroulement du séjour et vous font découvrir la culture et l’histoire locales. Nous choisissons minutieusement nos partenaires locaux et la qualité des services offerts est notre priorité numéro un.

Qu'arrive-t-il si je me blesse lors d'une excursion?

Nos guides sont formés en premiers soins en régions éloignées et savent comment intervenir dans ces situations. Ils transportent avec eux de l’équipement pour les situations d’urgence et nous leur fournissons un plan d’urgence adapté à la destination. Si vous devez être évacué par des services d’urgence (hélicoptère, service de sauvetage en montagne, etc.), notez que vous êtes responsable de ces frais et que ceux-ci peuvent être substantiels. Assurez-vous d’avoir une assurance qui couvre ces frais et les frais de rapatriement en cas d’incapacité à poursuivre votre voyage avec le groupe.

Combien y a-t-il de coureurs et de guides dans un groupe?

Nous formons des groupes de 6 à 14 coureurs, toujours encadrés par deux guides. Il y a une exception: au Mexique, nous pouvons former des groupes de jusqu’à 20 coureurs, puisque nous avons la possibilité d’ajouter des guides locaux à l’équipe d’encadrement.

Puis-je partir à un autre moment qu'aux dates annoncées?

Absolument. Contactez-nous pour obtenir un forfait sur mesure et partir à la date qui vous convient, que vous soyez en couple, en famille ou entre amis. Notez que pour certaines destinations, la meilleure saison pour courir en sentier est limitée à quelques mois par année.

Y a-t-il des ravitaillements sur les parcours?

Non. Chaque coureur doit transporter son sac de jour et être autonome en eau et en nourriture. Nos voyages sont avant tout des vacances et nous utilisons la course comme prétexte pour partir à l’aventure. Ce ne sont ni des camps d’entraînement ni des événements chronométrés. Nous avons tout le temps voulu pour prendre des pauses, boire et manger en chemin.

Mon conjoint ou ma conjointe ne court pas. Peut-il ou peut-elle se joindre au voyage quand même?

Certains de nos séjours peuvent convenir à une personne qui ne court pas. Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus.

Comment puis-je m'inscrire à un voyage?

Pour vous inscrire, appelez-nous à 514 377-7660 ou écrivez-nous à info@nomadeactif.com.

L'aventure au pas de course vous attend!

Contactez-nous

Remplissez ce formulaire et nous communiquerons avec vous rapidement.

Vos coordonnées

Destination